Day 26

November 10, 2008

It is so cold in my house.  I had to dig out a sweatshirt.  But I am a “no shoes” person so my feet are freezing too.  I was going to get some RT in tonight.  The room the Bowflex is in has the vent closed and hardwood floors so I am sure it is freezing in there.  Guess I will wait for another day.  LOL… Nope!  I am sure someone on the forum will remind me I am behind with my RT goal.  Therefore, in I went.  I tried something different this time.  Instead of going from 30 pounds to 10 pounds to 30 pounds to 15 pounds, I thought I could just leave it at 30 pounds and just change once, from the bar to the handcuffs.  That is harder than heck and my shoulder is burning.  This was not such a bright idea.  I will just have to keep switching them.  I did notice I am a bit stronger and was able to change the rods faster.  I will keep working on his goal until I succeed.

I am loading the software that came with my pedometer tonight so I can log and visually see my miles and improvement.  I really like the 52DC Excel sheet.

I am really looking forward to our hike on Wednesday. We are going to go back up the hill and follow it to the end (if possible).  They have closed part of the park so we cannot do a loop but have to retrace our steps, which are a bummer, but there is lots of little side trails so we will be kept busy for a while.  Once we finish this challenge, we are heading over the hill to try a new area that will be more challenging.  We are getting stronger and stronger.  Although I feel fat and like I have not lost an inch or a pound I do feel stronger inside.  I am breathing better and I have noticed a difference every time we go out hiking.  This is day two off that horrid medication.

I am off to have dinner.  I liked my turkey mixture of stuff so much I made it again. This time I put in more brown rice and more onions along with the tomatoes, olives and corn.  I have 1/2 bag left of corn and then I will be giving it up for a few weeks.  I am ready to try frozen broccoli.  I put in basil and a tiny bit of thyme.  Yummy for sure.

I love salads!  I am a huge fan of Ranch dressing and do not care for the oily type dressings.  I found a new recipe that uses 2 tablespoons of ranch to 1‑2 tablespoons of plain yogurt.  I am trying that tomorrow with my salad to see how it tastes.  I am going to research the calorie content of making my own mayo and using my own herbs to see if this will cut down some of the calories.  Anyone ever tried this?

My shoulders are not burning anymore so that is a good thing.  I might try some free weights later tonight.

I am watching the amount of people on the 52DC go down.  I wonder what is up with that.  I also am watching so many already reaching their goals and those coming very close.  I know I can reach my CE goal and I know I can reach my CT goal.  I am now going to concentrate on my RT goal this week.  The dog is gone and I finished my work early today.  My most horrific day and I was done by 2 p.m. Unheard of.  No excuse for now working out.  So many actually drive to a gym so I have no excuses.  A few have kids and still find the time to workout.  No excuses for me.  I am going to do this.  I am. I am.

P.S. I was so motivated tonight after reading posts and blogs that I went in and dusted off the treadmill.  Wow, have I gotten better or what.  I did different speeds and hills and learned how to do pre-programed routines.  I can see the T.V. or listen to music and just walk to my hearts content.  Now, I need to eat that dinner.  Amazing, I passed up dinner to walk on the treadmill.  This forum and challenge has really helped me.  The people and the support you get is like no other.  You want to make them all proud for giving of their time to help support you.   Thank you!!!!!

“There’s no such thing as bad weather, just soft people.”

– Bill Bowerman