Car Trouble and Money Saving Tips

Today was my day to have fun. Traveling to my new friends to meet her dad who has dementia and was just placed in a dementia center. I also was going to meet her mom who had a stroke; hence, the reason for placing her dad in a home for dementia patients as the mom cannot watch the dad any more. We had great plans. The hospital was letting the mom escape for a few hours.

I got up, got the car packed with intentions of getting fuel and heading to her house. I figured leaving early, I would miss the traffic.

WRONG!!!

My car and my mechanic let me down. My car was dead, deader than a typical doorbell. I called AAA and the driver wanted to tow my vehicle to the mechanic instead of jump-starting the car. I allowed this, as I had to get gas and was afraid if I shut off the car it would again not start, not giving it enough time to charge. I was also afraid it was my alternator and I would break down out of town with most mechanic shops closed for the weekend.

Thank goodness, the tow truck driver did what he did. I should have given him a bigger tip. Yes, it was my alternator. $350.00 later, my car will be fine. A whole day wasted with no transportation.

My plans are re-scheduled until next weekend. This messes up next weekend. It is one of those things you have to get done kind of things. Next week I will be fueled and ready to go. My vehicle will not let me down.

Today, I finished my Friday work and did a bit of Monday’s to make Monday a little lighter load. I started a sprouting experiment, which you can read about below. As soon as they call me to pick up my car, they close at 4:00 p.m., I will be baking bread. I have wanted to do this for a few days. I bought a new book and I am looking forward to trying this preferment procedure. Most bread takes two days to complete.

I am looking for money saving tips. Do you know any? So far, I plan to enlarge my garden adding one more square foot that is 4 X 4 and planting winter crops. I am cooking my own beans from dried instead of purchasing canned. I am reading about canning and next season plan on canning my own tomatoes. You know anything canned is convenient but expensive. I bought a new motion detector light that is an LED and is amazing!! Any more tips for me?

I would love to put a TV antenna on my roof. I am unable to find anyone to do that for me. I guess either most people have family or friends who can do it or people these days just use cable or Direct TV. I pay 81 bucks a month and getting free TV would be FREE.
I can pick up a DVD recorder to supplement as a DVR of sorts and the antennae and would be free and clear in only 2-3 months.

There you have it. Does anyone use a TV antenna? Does anyone want to come install mine? I can feed you well and take you on my road for a great workout.

Leave a comment